[itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Phillips, Paul
pphillips at walkthru.org
Fri Mar 27 07:49:51 EDT 2009
I can't speak for Yahoo! because I don't have an account there, but I
too have noticed that Gmail doesn't give you a whole lot of information
as to why a message is classified as SPAM. I would make sure you have
an SPF record on your domain name that explicitly names your mail
server(s) as sending mail servers. And I would make sure you have a
reverse DNS record for your public IP address. Aside from that, I would
review the header information of one of these messages for any
additional clues.
Paul Phillips
IT Manager
(770) 458-9300 x305
pphillips at walkthru.org <mailto:pphillips at walkthru.org>
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org
[mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 6:55 AM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Is anyone else having an issue with email from your domain getting
tagged as "SPAM" in Gmail and Yahoo mail? This just started a few weeks
ago for us. @mtw.org messages are going into the Gmail Spam folder for
any new people we connect with and send email to.
For instance, a person gives us their email address and wants us to
communicate with them. We add them to our contact list and then send
something to them. We don't hear back from them and so someone calls.
Come to find out, our message to their gmail account went into their
gmail spam folder.
This is not happening for people with whom we've been corresponding for
some time - only seems to be new gmail accounts.
Of course, Gmail customer service is awesome (if you can find them) -
I'm being facetious here - they don't write back. So, have been digging
around the web trying to find an answer.
Is anyone else experiencing this? Does anyone have any thoughts on what
might be happening. We've seen this with Gmail and Yahoo email - both of
whom are using Postini I believe - and only in the past couple months.
I've checked our status on the spam blocking services and MTW is NOT
blacklisted on any of these that I can tell or see.
Any thoughts?
Ken Thompson
IT Manager, Mission to the World
www.mtw.org
ken.thompson at mtw.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/025dd2d4/attachment-0001.htm
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 1664 bytes
Desc: image005.jpg
Url : http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/025dd2d4/attachment-0002.jpeg
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 2713 bytes
Desc: image006.jpg
Url : http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/025dd2d4/attachment-0003.jpeg
More information about the discuss
mailing list