[itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Ian Beyer
Ian.Beyer at cor.org
Fri Mar 27 17:33:42 EDT 2009
Best bet to stay off blacklists:
1) You have SPF on your domain.
2) Reverse DNS on your outgoing mail servers matches your forward
DNS, which matches your MX records, which matches your SPF. Bonus points
if name servers match and reverse to what's in your domain record.
3) abuse@ and postmaster@ don't bounce.
4) Monitor the blacklists.
Ian Beyer
Network Administrator
United Methodist Church of the Resurrection
13720 Roe Ave
Leawood KS 66224
http://www.cor.org
Google Voice: (913) 586-4618
Office: (913) 544-0288
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org
[mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 4:09 PM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Ouch - sorry Dan!
If I get the MTW issue figured out, I'll let you know. The SPF didn't
fix the problem - the headers in gmail don't say why the messages are
getting tagged as spam and the SPF settings in the headers say
everything is "Pass".
I've got a friend who works for Google and I'm "pinging" him to see if
he can get me to a "warm body" on this issue. In the meantime, if anyone
encounters this or has other ideas, please pass along anything, no
matter how trivial. MTW has a pretty big user base (we're the
Presbyterian Church in America's mission board) so this is very painful
right now.
Appreciate all the help thus far!!
ken
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org
[mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Dan Barber
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 4:56 PM
To: 'IT Discussion Forum'
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
We recently ran into this with sbcglobal.net. Still working on the
cause.
Dan
From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org
[mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 5:55 AM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail
Is anyone else having an issue with email from your domain getting
tagged as "SPAM" in Gmail and Yahoo mail? This just started a few weeks
ago for us. @mtw.org messages are going into the Gmail Spam folder for
any new people we connect with and send email to.
For instance, a person gives us their email address and wants us to
communicate with them. We add them to our contact list and then send
something to them. We don't hear back from them and so someone calls.
Come to find out, our message to their gmail account went into their
gmail spam folder.
This is not happening for people with whom we've been corresponding for
some time - only seems to be new gmail accounts.
Of course, Gmail customer service is awesome (if you can find them) -
I'm being facetious here - they don't write back. So, have been digging
around the web trying to find an answer.
Is anyone else experiencing this? Does anyone have any thoughts on what
might be happening. We've seen this with Gmail and Yahoo email - both of
whom are using Postini I believe - and only in the past couple months.
I've checked our status on the spam blocking services and MTW is NOT
blacklisted on any of these that I can tell or see.
Any thoughts?
Ken Thompson
IT Manager, Mission to the World
www.mtw.org
ken.thompson at mtw.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/4f19166b/attachment-0001.htm
More information about the discuss
mailing list