[itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

Danny Ybarra dannyy at viantsolutions.com
Fri Mar 27 21:55:51 EDT 2009


Not specifically help for you, but it can be a option.  Domains/sites that I know generate a lot of email, I will set them to use their ISP as their mail host and  the corresponding reverse DNS set there as well. (Easy since the ISP is used to doing this).

Good points are.
                Bounced emails are now the ISPs issue.
                Bounced emails get resolved faster because another customer probably already called.
                Only one outbound connection to really worry about. (if you use a spam provider like katharion or postini you can now have nice, tight rules on the firewall for inbound and outbound. Limits what servers connect on port 25)

Bad point
                If you flood the ISPs mail server they might cut you off. (spam / virus generating machine bouncing off your mail server and then sending it on to the ISP)


Danny Ybarra
Viant Solutions
678-358-4603

From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 7:24 PM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

Thanks Ian but, been there, done that and still having this issue.

MTW is not on any blacklist that I can tell. Feel free to help check us out - mail.mtw.org or just mtw.org. also, I think SPF, reverse DNS, etc. are all set and working correctly, but, I certainly could be missing something so here too, any help is invited and welcome.

Thanks!

Ken

From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Ian Beyer
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 5:34 PM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

Best bet to stay off blacklists:


1)      You have SPF on your domain.

2)      Reverse DNS on your outgoing mail servers matches your forward DNS, which matches your MX records, which matches your SPF. Bonus points if name servers match and reverse to what's in your domain record.

3)      abuse@ and postmaster@ don't bounce.

4)      Monitor the blacklists.

Ian Beyer
Network Administrator
United Methodist Church of the Resurrection
13720 Roe Ave
Leawood KS 66224
http://www.cor.org
Google Voice: (913) 586-4618
Office: (913) 544-0288


From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 4:09 PM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

Ouch - sorry Dan!

If I get the MTW issue figured out, I'll let you know. The SPF didn't fix the problem - the headers in gmail don't say why the messages are getting tagged as spam and the SPF settings in the headers say everything is "Pass".

I've got a friend who works for Google and I'm "pinging" him to see if he can get me to a "warm body" on this issue. In the meantime, if anyone encounters this or has other ideas, please pass along anything, no matter how trivial. MTW has a pretty big user base (we're the Presbyterian Church  in America's mission board) so this is very painful right now.

Appreciate all the help thus far!!

ken

From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Dan Barber
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 4:56 PM
To: 'IT Discussion Forum'
Subject: Re: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

We recently ran into this with sbcglobal.net. Still working on the cause.

Dan

From: discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org [mailto:discuss-bounces at itdiscuss.org] On Behalf Of Thompson, Ken
Sent: Friday, March 27, 2009 5:55 AM
To: IT Discussion Forum
Subject: [itdiscuss] Domain getting tagged as spam in gmail

Is anyone else having an issue with email from your domain getting tagged as "SPAM" in Gmail and Yahoo mail? This just started a few weeks ago for us. @mtw.org messages are going into the Gmail Spam folder for any new people we connect with and send email to.

For instance, a person gives us their email address and wants us to communicate with them. We add them to our contact list and then send something to them. We don't hear back from them and so someone calls. Come to find out, our message to their gmail account went into their gmail spam folder.

This is not happening for people with whom we've been corresponding for some time - only seems to be new gmail accounts.

Of course, Gmail customer service is awesome (if you can find them) - I'm being facetious here - they don't write back. So, have been digging around the web trying to find an answer.

Is anyone else experiencing this? Does anyone have any thoughts on what might be happening. We've seen this with Gmail and Yahoo email - both of whom are using Postini I believe - and only in the past couple months. I've checked our status on the spam blocking services and MTW is NOT blacklisted on any of these that I can tell or see.

Any thoughts?

Ken Thompson
IT Manager, Mission to the World
www.mtw.org<http://www.mtw.org>
ken.thompson at mtw.org<mailto:ken.thompson at mtw.org>

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://optimus.thompsonic.com/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20090327/1f0c7cb6/attachment-0001.htm 


More information about the discuss mailing list